top of page

I'm a Little Seed

As the first graders have learned how plants have specific needs in order to survive and grow healthy, they also began to learn how to write creatively during their draw-and-tell session. Focusing on the writing trait VOICE, students were asked to imagine themselves as a seed. They would write a story about their own journey, growing from a little seed into a plant. Students continued to learn to write from a first-person point of view, but took it to a whole new level - writing a personal narrative from a different perspective. Read these students' adventurous stories about their being a sunflower and a carrot seed.

I'm a Sunflower Seed

by Reina Huang 黃昕亞, Grade 1

The people cut the sunflower stem. I come out and fall into the dirt. Then the people cover me with dirt and the people pour water on the dirt. Then I grow a little, then grow a little bigger, then a leaf grows out then... I GROW INTO A FLOWER!!! The people cut the flower and give it to a girl friend. Then the girl friend says it's so pretty.

------

I'm a Carrot Seed

by Curtis Chang 張懷之, Grade 1

The boy buys a bag of carrot seeds. He put me into the soil. I've grown and grown. There is a tree beside me. There is a nest and holes on the tree. Oh no! The bird eats 10 seeds and the mouse eats 3 seeds. There are 4 seeds left, but 1 seed died. There were 3 plants on the ground. The boy and his father and his brother pulled and pulled and then the carrot is out! I've said, "I grow into a carrot, I can grow again!" So we are very happy. The boy put carrot seeds into the soil. This made me happy. I grew into a carrot again!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page